OLG Dresden Decides: Permanent Deactivation of a Users Account
Social Network: When it’s possible to permanently deactivate a user´s account?
If you have already gotten your account deactivated, or if you received a warning: The Germans OLG of Dresden took the final decision on this case. For the original and complete version of the case: OLG Dresden, final judgement of 08.03.2022 – 4 U 1050/21.
(1) The permanent deactivation of a user’s account on a social network is only permissible after a prior warning, even if several of the user’s posts had already been deleted beforehand.
(2) A claim to refrain from a future deactivation without granting an opportunity to comment cannot be considered even after an unjustified termination.
(Guiding principles: The members of the 4th Civil Senate)
During this case was discussed, if the social network is allowed to just permanently deactivate an account and al the links connected to it without a prior warning. This kind of deactivations are really common and if you are reading this article you might be interested in having a conversation with IT- and Social Media Law Experts at horak. Attorney-at-law.